2, 7, 15, 16 | The Observer | Roz Rogoff | DanvilleSanRamon.com |

Local Blogs

The Observer

By Roz Rogoff

About this blog: In January 2002 I started writing my own online "newspaper" titled "The San Ramon Observer." I reported on City Council meetings and other happenings in San Ramon. I tried to be objective in my coverage of meetings and events, and...  (More)

View all posts from Roz Rogoff

2, 7, 15, 16

Uploaded: Jul 31, 2011
No this isn't one of those puzzles where you have to figure the mathematical formula that links these numbers. These are the tentative numbers for Legislative Districts San Ramon could be part of next month.

Number 2 is the Contra Costa County Supervisor's District, if Map 17-D or Map 16 is approved. So far 17-D appears to be the winner, but it won't be certain until August 9th. I'm rooting for it, because Maps 7 and 16, which are, respectively, the State Senatorial District and the State Assembly District, match Contra Costa County District 2 almost to a T.

Wouldn't that be nice, having a County Supervisor, State Assembly Member, and State Senator, with roughly the same exact territory in Contra Costa County, plus the Tri-Valley Cities of Dublin, Pleasanton, and Livermore in the Assembly District, and a little more to the North, South, East, and West for the State Senate District.

County redistricting still has one final Public Hearing and vote on August 9th. The State redistricting has one final vote on August 15th, but might meet on August 7th, if needed, according to the Redistricting Commission website.

The numbers are confusing because except for State Senate they are all different from what they are now. San Ramon is, or was, in Contra Costa County District 3 but will (probably) be in District 2.

We are in State Assembly District 15, which stretches from the Ohlone Regional Wilderness in the south to Walnut Creek in the Northwest and Wilton in the Northeast. Our new District 16 is more compact and connected, but still includes the Tri-Valley cities of San Ramon, Danville, Dublin, Pleasanton, and Livermore.

Our new State Senate District is still number 7 but now it cuts out part of Martinez and other cities to the northwest and adds the Tri-Valley cities from Alameda County

We are in Congressional District 11, which spreads way over to the East. Now it appears we shall be in District 15, which spreads over to the West.

Mayor Wilson is annoyed that San Ramon was put into a Congressional District that is otherwise entirely in Alameda County. We are with our neighbors, Dublin, Pleasanton, and Livermore, but also with Castro Valley, Hayward, and Union City.

This new District 15 should not be confused with Rep. Mike Honda's District 15, which runs south from Milpitas to Gilroy. Our new District 15, combines territory from Districts 9 and 13, Rep. Barbara Lee's and Pete Stark's Districts.

No wonder Wilson is annoyed. Lee and Stark are probably the two most "Liberal" Congresspersons from California. I don't like political labels, but neither Lee nor Stark would be the first choice for most voters in San Ramon. So that puts us in a Congretional District where East Bay Cities could be marginalized.

These maps are "Preliminary Final Drafts," but any change to one District could cause a ripple effect through all of the Districts. So it isn't likely that there will be any changes now.

Local Journalism.
What is it worth to you?


There are no comments yet for this post

Follow this blogger.
Sign up to be notified of new posts by this blogger.



Post a comment

Sorry, but further commenting on this topic has been closed.

Stay informed.

Get the day's top headlines from DanvilleSanRamon.com sent to your inbox in the Express newsletter.

Common Ground
By Sherry Listgarten | 3 comments | 1,675 views

Labor unions win big in Sacramento
By Tim Hunt | 8 comments | 1,260 views